RSS

Little Black Sambo

16 Feb

Once there was a little black boy called Little Black Sambo. His mother’s name was Black Mumbo and His father’s name is Black Jumbo. One day, Mumbo made a fine red coat for Little Sambo, and also a pair of trousers. He went to the market to buy himself an umbrella and a pair of lavender shoes. He felt so grand that he decided to go to the jungle for a walk.

” GRRRRR…” he heard.

Out came a tiger!

” Little Black Sambo, I will eat you up!” the tiger said.

” No, please don’t eat me, I will give you my red coat!” little sambo pleaded.

” Very well, but you must give it to me.” the tiger responded , as he walked off with the red coat.

” Now I am the grandest tiger in the whole jungle.” he muttered to himself.

Minutes later, Sambo heard more growling.

Out came another tiger!

” Little Black Sambo, I will eat you!” the tiger said.

” No, please don’t eat me, I will give you my lovely pair of trousers!” little black sambo yelled.

” Very well, but you must give them to me.”

the tiger put it on and said:

” Now I am the grandest tiger of all.”

there was more growling until another tiger came.

” Little Black sambo, I will eat you up! ”

” No, please don’t eat me, I will give you my shoes!”

” But, I’m a tiger, I have for feet, so you don’t have enough for me.”

” You could wear them on your ears!”

And off the tiger went, with the shoes on his ears.

All Sambo had left was the umbrella now.

He heard growling once more.

“Little Black Sambo!! I will eat you up!”

” No, please take this umbrella instead!!”

” But, I’m a tiger and I don’t need an umbrella.”

” You could tie it to your tail and hold it like that”

” Very well, then.”

The tiger strolled off with the umbrella.

Little Black Sambo wept because he had nothing left. Suddenly, he heard growling. Were the tigers her to eat him up? Well, out they came , fighting over who’s the grandest. They took off all his clothing and left it on the floor. sambo picked it up and wore it as the tigers were fighting. They were chasing each other around the tree so fast that you coudn’t even see their legs. After they stopped, they were turned into a pile of butter.

” I think I will bring this to my mother. She will make pancakes out of this butter..” So, with that, Sambo took the butter , put it in a brass pot, and returned home.

My! Was Mumbo happy! She made a bunch of delicious pancakes out of the butter the tigers made. They all prepared for supper. And Black Mumbo ate Twenty-seven pancakes, and Black Jumbo ate Fifty-five, but Little Black Sambo ate a Hundred and Sixty-nine, because he was so hungry.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 16, 2011 in Fables and Stories

 

Leave a Reply

 
